Foods you might not know are naturally gluten-free
- Konjac noodles
- Rice noodles
- Homemade fries
- Wheat flour alternatives
- Gram-flour falafel
- Salt cod fritters
- Rice cakes
- Rice cakes
- Corn cakes
- Poké bowls
- Jacket potatoes
- Corn tortilla
- Potato skins
- Baked sweet potato
- Sweet potato brownies
- Tapioca pancakes
- Tapioca pancakes
- English breakfast (hold the toast!)
- Buckwheat pancakes
Whether you’ve been diagnosed with celiac disease, suffer from a gluten intolerance, or just choose to cut the ‘big G’ from your diet, going gluten-free (GF) can make your comfort food options seem pretty limited. But while it can be tempting to opt for processed imitations of familiar favorites, there are actually lots of tempting foods out there that are naturally gluten-free. Even better, most of them are inexpensive and super quick to prepare!
Mouth watering yet? Browse this gallery to see which delicious dishes are naturally gluten-free.
You may also like: Find out which foods will help boost your immune system
Konjac noodles
Not only are these little beauties gluten-free, they’re also carb-free and virtually calorie-free. Made from fibrous konjac root, they are a guilt-free way to slurp your way through a stir fry.
Rice noodles
Not quite so innocent on the carbs and calories front, rice noodles are a staple part of many Asian dishes and make a delicious alternative to heavier wheat flour noodles. If ordering rice noodle dishes in a restaurant, be sure to ask them to hold the soy sauce (it contains wheat gluten).
You may also like: The bizarre laws of North Korea
Homemade fries
Store-bought fries sometimes come with a floury coating that makes them non-GF, but thick-cut, homemade fries (or British chip shop chips) are just potatoes cooked in oil, so tuck in! Douse liberally in salt and (non-malt) vinegar for the full effect.
Wheat flour alternatives
While Western dishes tend to rely heavily on wheat flour, many foods from around the world have incorporated alternative flours long before it became fashionable to do so. Lentil flour, rice flour, and gram flour (chickpea/garbanzo flour) are common in many Asian and Middle Eastern recipes, for example.
You may also like: How to strengthen your immune system
Poppadoms
Made with lentil flour, poppadoms (sometimes called poppadums and pappadums, among other spellings) are a staple part of any Indian meal. Regular or spiced, they’re a tasty snack, and specialty supermarkets often sell them in pre-prepared packets for frying at home.
Dosa
This traditional South Indian dish is made with fermented rice and lentil flour, and makes a tasty base for chutneys, spiced potatoes, and other fillings. It’s easy enough to make your own batter, but specialist dosa flour is readily available online.
You may also like: Why you have nightmares (and what you can do about it)
Gram-flour falafel
Made from chickpeas, gram flour, and spices, the falafel is a tasty treat that’s usually GF. But double check the gluten factor when ordering falafel in a restaurant or buying pre-prepared mixes, as wheat flour sometimes sneaks in.
Salt cod fritters
A traditional bar snack in Portugal, salt cold fritters (bolinhos de bacalhau) are easy to whip up at home. Made with cod, potato, parsley and egg, they satisfy the urge for a crunchy, savory treat.
You may also like: Australia’s richest celebrities
Rice cakes
The humble rice cake gets a bit of a bad rep, but tasty toppings can elevate it to new foodie heights. For a sweet treat that’s naturally gluten-free, go for fruits, melted chocolate, or peanut butter and banana. Yum!
Rice cakes
You can play around with savory toppings too: try smoked salmon and soft cheese; or tomatoes with guacamole or hummus for a vegan option.
You may also like: Celebrities who are HIV positive
Corn cakes
Prepare to become good friends with corn. Look out for corn cakes that have no added ingredients, and you have a super simple, inexpensive base for any number of sweet or savory toppings.
Poké bowls
These trendy, Hawaiian-inspired bowls of goodness are almost always gluten-free. With rice as a base, you can build your own with wholesome ingredients such as salmon, raw tuna, prawns, and avocado.
You may also like: Australia’s mythical creatures
Tofu
Vegan and gluten-free? Unlike other meat alternatives such as seitan, tofu is a protein-packed friend that’s naturally GF. Increasingly available in supermarkets, the smoked version adds a meaty flavor to many dishes.
Tempeh
Like tofu, tempeh is made from soy beans, and doesn’t contain gluten. Unlike tofu, it’s fermented (good news for gut bacteria) and has a higher level of nutrients and fiber. Try adding it to your favorite stir fry recipes.
You may also like: The world’s ugliest (but coolest) dogs
Quinoa
Not to be confused with couscous (made from wheat flour), this South American grain is naturally gluten-free. As a plant-based, nutrient-rich form or protein, it makes an excellent base for a substantial salad.
Popcorn
The cinema staple is fine for gluten-avoiders, provided it doesn’t come smothered in any questionable processed toppings. If in doubt, make your own at home—and add any tasty extras that take your fancy.
You may also like: The winners of the 60th Logie Awards
Tortilla
The simple Spanish omelet is as easy to make as it is tasty. Taking eggs, potato, and onion as a base, you can add ingredients such as cheese, bell peppers, or diced bacon. Bonus: it can be eaten hot or cold.
Arepa
A hearty, floury patty that contains no gluten? Sounds like comfort food heaven! A popular street food in Colombia and Venezuela, it’s made from ground maize flour, and can be stuffed with anything from grated cheese to hummus and salad.
You may also like: The most unusual places that people call home
Jacket potatoes
For a hassle-free, hearty meal that’s naturally gluten-free, look no further than the oven-baked potato. Bake, slice open, and fill with cheese or vegan options like beans or hummus.
Corn tortilla
Another street food staple, the corn tortilla can be stuffed with salad and chicken, meat, beans or just about anything else you might think of. While some have wheat flour mixed in (check the ingredients), pure corn tortillas are an ideal sandwich alternative.
You may also like: Hollywood’s most extreme method actors
Potato skins
Loaded with cheese, beans and sour cream, potato skins are a crowd-pleasing party snack. If making your own, cook the potatoes first and scoop out the insides—they can be used for mash or in patties.
Baked sweet potato
Sweet potato is another handy ingredient for gluten-free folk. The vitamin-rich root vegetable can be turned into fries, sliced and cooked in the toaster (yes, really!), or baked in the oven.
You may also like: Lady Gaga and Bradley Cooper’s cutest moments
Sweet potato brownies
The sweet potato comes into its own in desserts, too. If you have a hankering for gooey, fudgy brownies, a gluten-free version made with sweet potatoes should hit the spot.
Tapioca pancakes
A hugely popular street food in Brazil, tapioca pancakes are made from starchy cassava flour and are super easy to prepare.
You may also like: Trying to lose weight? Don’t make these common mistakes!
Tapioca pancakes
The tapioca starch (available online or in specialty stores) is simply tossed in a pan over heat—no oil or water needed—and forms a delicious, crispy pancake that is equally delicious with sweet or savory fillings.
English breakfast (hold the toast!)
Going gluten-free doesn’t have to mean a lifetime of fruit salads for breakfast. As long as you hold the toast (and check there’s no sneaky flour binding the sausages), the breakfast fry-up is still a hangover-busting option.
You may also like: Trying to lose weight? Don’t make these common mistakes!
Buckwheat
Don’t let the name put you off: buckwheat is wheat-and-gluten-free! Technically, it’s a seed and not a grain, sometimes referred to as a pseudo-cereal.
Buckwheat pancakes
The grains make a great salad ingredient, and the flour makes a solid alternative to wheat versions in dishes like these yummy breakfast pancakes.
You may also like: Chernobyl: see what remains over 35 years later
Nachos
As long as you avoid those with added flavorings, good old nachos are a gluten-free snack. Grab some salsa and guac, and you’re good to go!
Chocolate
Yes, you can still eat chocolate! As long as you avoid any added crisped cereals, it’s game on for the good stuff. Go for bars with added nuts for an added protein punch.
Sources: (Healthline) (Minimalist Baker)
See also: What are the healthiest grains?
You may also like: What are the most common star signs of serial killers? The answer will surprise you!